“I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.”

–Douglas Adams

I’m late on stuff again, and I apologize. I sometimes make my goals a bit unreasonable in the first place but then add on the fact that I frequently forget the chaos that comes with having children (and on summer break, yet), livestock, and a new dog? Fuhgeddaboudit.
I have not been idle, though!
I’m well into the final stretch on Down, the second book in the Nephilim Codex series, and I have a decent amount done on Eating Bitter, Randall Lee 3.5. I would say that one good, solid work week would be enough to finish both, but we’ll see.
In any case, I just wanted to quickly say that I’m not dead, new stuff WILL come soon, and, hopefully, it’ll be worth the wait.
I will say this about Eating Bitter: It is not the standard Randall Lee story (whatever that is).
One of the problems I always had with some of the great ongoing mystery series is the lack of consequences. So many times you see the hero of a novel struggle and suffer and in some cases almost die… only to find that, in the next book, nothing has changed. In fact, much of the time those experiences are never even mentioned again.
That bugs me.
Eating Bitter is about consequences. Don’t expect insane kung fu fights and non-stop action because this novella is about dealing with the physical and mental trauma of the first three books. It’s about the relationships that we’ve seen forged (and tested), and how those characters will go forward.
And it leads into the fourth Randall Lee novel: The Art of War, which I CANNOT wait to get started on.

More to come soon!
(I hope)

Best,

Charles

p.s. – Regarding the new dog… Here he is: Chet the Wonder Dog:10521526_10154358117080433_5252056134317772970_n

p.p.s. If you’re at all interested in checking out what I’m listening to for writing, here’s my playlists for (Down )and (Eating Bitter).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

