Hello again!

I know, I know. I *say* that I’m going to be better about blogging, but then months fly by, right?
I have a bit of an excuse this time. The period of time between January and, oh, about two weeks ago was filled mostly with recurring bouts of flu, anxiety attacks, and general unpleasantness.
With that being over now, I’m a much happier (and healthier) person.
And while I am SUPER behind on my writing, I’m now going to be hitting it pretty much full-time so I plan to be able to get caught up soon.

What this means for you, dear readers, is that Jianghu – the 3rd Randall Lee mystery – will likely be available in mid-summer rather than late spring. Also, fear not Nephilim Codex fans! Down – Canto II – is the absolute next thing on my list. I feel bad about pushing it back, but I really felt like I needed to finish out this first semi-trilogy in the Randall Lee stories, especially since some readers are not especially happy with me after the cliffhanger ending of Pressure Point…
For any of the Star Wars fans out there, think of Pressure Point as my Empire Strikes Back. As Dante noted in Kevin Smith’s brilliant Clerks, “Luke gets his hand cut off, finds out Vader’s his father, Han gets frozen and taken away by Boba Fett. It ends on such a down note. I mean, that’s what life is, a series of down endings. All Jedi had was a bunch of Muppets.”
Jianghu is conspicuously missing muppets, but otherwise the comparison is a pretty good one, I think. Randall will (hopefully) make it back up into the light, but he’s got to go all the way through the darkness to get there. That being said, I’m trying to fit in as much humor and lightheartedness as is appropriate for a book about a guy hunting a child killer. There are quite a few funny moments so far (and I plan on sharing a bit of that with my newsletter members, so send me an email to join if you haven’t already! charlescolyott@gmail.com)

Anyway, I could write about how awesome the book is going to be…
Or I could work on making the book awesome.

I think some of you will appreciate if I do the latter. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

